Packing 101

3 Jul

I am an over-packer to a new degree.

I have unpacked and repacked my 3.5 bags three times already in the week that they have been full. I then packed all my other crap into boxes to leave in my friend’s garage.

My bags for Nepal are now taking over my big sister’s living room.

Ayesha’s Rules for packing:

  • Try hard to organize suitcase
  • Roll all clothes to make for extra room
  • Pack clothes you’ll definitely wear, clothes you may wear and clothes you’ll definitely not wear
  • Need for electronics and entertainment: CDs, DVDs, laptop, netbook
  • notebooks in case I get in the writing mood, sketchbook in case I learn to draw while abroad, collage notebook for when I go through a crafty-spell
  • camera
  • Two cell phones in case my Android is too advanced I need my old Blackberry (I hope it still works!)
  • Bring stuff for orphans I may find roaming around Nepal…I have a big heart
  • Need to look good: pack jewelry in case I’m not in the mood to wear beautiful, hand-made and affordable jewelry from Nepal; Makeup
  • Health is important: Need vitamins, medications that went bad over a year ago that I found packed away in an old suitcase
  • Snuggie
  • You never know what you may feel like doing in 10 months: pack a bathing suit and scuba diving license though I am going to a land-locked country and have not gone swimming since I stopped my introductory swim lessons last winter
  • HYDRATION: 2 metal water bottles, a plastic water bottle that was on sale with a filter that specifically says it will not protect against dirty/infested (ie ‘developing world’) water

Next steps:

  • Unpack everything and repack
  • Try and get rid of a few things
  • End up throwing in more things I may need

Finally:

  • Go through this step once more

I end up with:

  • One of the largest suitcases known to wo/man
  • backpack to wear at airport
  • two small suitcases that can be used as carry-ons to keep more clothing

**EDIT** Here is what the corner of the living room looks like…

4 Responses to “Packing 101”

  1. anlena July 4, 2012 at 5:12 am #

    You’re even worse than me at packing. I hope it all goes well for u in Nepal and I’m looking forward to reading about your new adventure. And, btw, I miss u!

    • Ayesha Kamellia July 4, 2012 at 6:27 am #

      I’m about to start round 3 of unpacking because my bag is too big to go on the airline (over 32 kg and it’s not allowed).
      Forgive me, but based on your user and email I can’t figure out who you are…please forgive.

      • anlena July 5, 2012 at 2:25 am #

        haha, I’m Ana (from Spain, in case that still leaves doubt). Thought you’d know since you followed my blog 🙂

      • Ayesha Kamellia July 5, 2012 at 3:48 am #

        bahaha actually I’m glad you specified! Hey guuurrrlll!!!
        What’s going on with you?? Where are you these days?

Leave a Reply

