Sweating profusely

9 Jul

I arrived in Kathmandu this morning at 8:35am local time.

The 3 flights weren’t so bad, but I couldn’t sleep. In Heathrow my twin and I met for lunch, it was SO good to see him, even if only for an hour and a half.

Image

Twin bro and I after lunch at Heathrow

Qatar Airways was nice but of course I ended up on one of three seats on the entire Boing 767, completely booked flight, with the tv that did not work. I somehow end up with electronics that are lemons all the time. This was not a coincidence. After annoying 4 different air hosts several times, it got reset, re-reset, and re-reset until finally it started to work. Phew. I was sitting amongst 150 British high school kids going on a school trekking adventure to Anapurna. They were exactly as you would expect except with accents that were hard to understand. If I hadn’t gotten the TV to work, I’d have gone mad.

When we stopped off in Qatar, it was for about 15 minutes, but I am SO FASCINATED by this place. Apparently there are sandstorms daily with 50 degree temperatures, so of course it sounds quite awful, but the money people make there really makes me want to consider moving there for a year. How bad can it be?? Two of the air hosts were telling me how much they hate living there, hahaha, but it made me want to go there even more. After years of interning or working for chump change it would be nice to make some big bucks.

Once I arrived at Kathmandu airport things went surprisingly smoothly.

I am not sure yet. but I think there is a blackout as nothing works, but the lights do so I don’t know. I am about to sleep, for the first time since Friday night but it is so freakin’ humid that I’m not sure I’ll be able to.

So far, Kathmandu reminds me a lot of both Mauritius and Karachi – a kind of hybrid of the two. Best (or worst) of both worlds.

I start orientation tomorrow, and that lasts till Friday when we’ll start two weeks of Nepali language classes.

We just came back from the clinic where we got Japanese Eniphilitis and Rabies shots, which cost less than a fraction of how much they cost in Canada. I’ve also decided to stock up on my regular meds here as I don’t have coverage in Canada and my daily meds which in Canada cost me $70 a month, here, cost $25. Maybe I can pack a suitcase of medications and open up a pharmacy back in Toronto. Ah, quite the entrepreneur.

Anyway, I am exhausted, so will check in tomorrow with pics and better updates. Here are a couple random shots I took today.

Image

random motorcyle

Image

There’s plenty of time to eat local food. I had a chicken sizzler for lunch…

The ‘passage house’ that new volunteer stay in for 2 weeks while looking for a place

xxx

Ayesha

6 Responses to “Sweating profusely”

  1. Kara July 9, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

    I am so glad you arrived safe and I am loving the blog! Miss you!

  2. Hayley Leonard-Paige July 9, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    So glad you arrived safe and sound, if not exhausted. I hope you’ll manage to catch up on some sleep and have a lovely first few days.

    And good luck with orientation 🙂

  3. Swordfish July 10, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    nice to hear you’re there all safe and sound. cute pic of the two of you.

    • Ayesha Kamellia July 10, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      gracias. It’s a lot like Karachi but less beggars and poverty. well, apparently it’s here but not everywhere, i have yet to see it.

Leave a Reply

