Om Mani Padme Hum

16 Jul

I attended my first meditation class in Nepal this evening and it was free!

The teacher was an American guy from Manhattan and all 7 of us attendees were foreigners. Understandable, I suppose, given that it was held in the upstairs of the same restaurant/bar we went to on Friday night, called 1905.

It was a really interesting class – very different than any meditation I tried previoiusly. To be honest I didn’t leave feeling nearly as relaxed as I normally do, although admittedly I have very little experience in the matter.

We learned to be more aware of our mind, and our concentration, or lack thereof. We were given 5 minute intervals to focus solely on our breath and to count our breath in and out and every time our mind wanders, to start from 1 again. I couldn’t get past breath #4!

I hope that if I try doing this regularly at home, even once or twice a week for 15 minutes, I may actually be able to count past breath #10. It really concerns me that this is the case, but as the instructor said, it’s just a matter of changing your habit.

Coming here, I was hoping to go to meditation daily at 6am and do yoga every other day, and have this set routine. Now, I know that setting a schedule takes time but it turns out that within the Kathmandu valley, or at least where I currently am and where I will be moving to (a town called Patan) there is actually very little in the way of regular meditation classes. What most hippies do is go on 10 or 20 day retreats. I don’t have the time or patience to do that, so for now, this will have to do.

Along with meditation of course I will decorate my new apartment with lots of buddha images and hindu gods, some statues and mini prayer wheels – just to set the mood. They’re so pretty! 🙂

xxx

Ayesha

Leave a Reply

