Nagarkot, Teej, etc.

21 Sep

On Friday I tagged along with some friends of a friend to leave the Kathmandu Valley (finally!!) for the night. Our destination was a place called Nagarkot, which is a lovely mountainous region near the valley, where, when the weather is good, there is a splendid view of sunsets and mountains. That, however, was not the case when I went.

As monsoon season is just ending, and this year it seems to be lasting much later than usual, with more rain in the last week than during the entire season, my trip to Nagarkot provided mostly views of the clouds, although I did get to see some villages from a distance.

It was very, very beautiful, and lovely to finally get out of the valley. I will need to go back, though, when the weather is clear as I would love to see some mountains! Apparently one can even see Everest from there.

We arrived Friday evening and had dinner and some wine and then I fell asleep.

Nagarkot

Tuesday was Teej festival, a celebration for women to wear red and fast for the long lives of their husbands, or to get a good husband.

It rained all day, but I got a few nice photos…many umber-ellas-ellas.

Women dressed for Teej

I cannot believe it’s the last week of September, my time here will fly by. Lordy!

xxx

Namaste

Ayesha

2 Responses to “Nagarkot, Teej, etc.”

  1. nepaliaustralian September 27, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    One of the things I love about Nepal is that there so much to celebrate 🙂

    • Ayesha Kamellia September 27, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

      I know, it’s almost like there’s a different celebration every week. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

