Karma

5 Oct

Despite being clumsy, for the most part I try to take decent care of my laptop. I don’t download stuff, I don’t do illegal things…all I really do is surf the web and edit photos on it and work, listen to music and watch DVDs.

Yet, yesterday after only 13 months, it completely went berserk and isn’t working now.

There is no reason for this to have happened. So, I’m wondering, is it karma? Is this Vishnu or Shiva or Ganesh’s way to tell me that yes indeed I screwed up and this is how I will repay the universe, by sufferring?

My computer is not working, my phone is cracked and losing its sensitivity (it’s a touch screen) and the model never came to Nepal so getting it fixed would require sending it abroad, costing about half of what I paid for the phone itself.

What does it all mean? Should I toss out all my broken or nearly broken electronics and move to a mountain somewhere to meditate, as it seems the universe is telling me I don’t do well with electronics, at least not these days. Or is it just a really bad coincidence?

The good news is that Tara and I are now talking. Things aren’t perfect, but we’re back to being friends and roommates, which is good because I missed her so, so much. She really is a fabulous friend and roommate. I need to remember to buy her flowers…

Tomorrow I have an appointment with an Astrologist. Astrologists are really big in Hindu culture, at least in Nepal. Most Nepalis visit them at least once a year near the time of their birthday, as well as during the year when they need to seek advice. The Astrologist will look at their birth chart (which I need to get made) and consult the stars and if something bad is going to happen, advise them as to which stones to wear and on which finger, which god to pray to, which days and when to fast to avoid the trouble.

I am an atheist. I don’t believe that the location of the stars when I was born has anything to do with my fate, however, people really seem to believe in this stuff, so I thought, why not? Who knows? Maybe if he gives me a really accurate description of my past, I’ll believe what he tells me about the future. It should be interesting. Since the Astrologer only speaks Nepali, the CEO of one of FTG’s partners is going to translate. It is his Astrologer, and I will be going to his house at 8am tomorrow morning to meet with him and the Astrolger and he will translate. Who knows, maybe this time next week I’ll be fasting on Tuesdays and praying to lord Ganesh.

xxx

Ayesha

3 Responses to “Karma”

  1. nepaliaustralian October 5, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    Good luck with ur visit. Eager to hear what he will say.

  2. Mrs Leonard October 5, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    On the electronics front, in my own opinion, I find it hard to believe that it’s karma. You are a good person and have a good heart; that’s clear to see. But maybe it is a sign of sorts? I’m a believer in little signs, and I personally would read into these events and think maybe I need to take a step away from technology/outside communications for a while? Have some me time? Just my own thoughts.

    Good luck with the astrologer. I hope it’s an interesting/valuable visit!

  3. Mrs Leonard October 5, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    P.S. Sending you b*I*r*T*h*D*a*Y* w*I*s*H*e*S* for Sunday!

Leave a Reply

